Quick and Easy Summer Dresses

Jo-Ann’s carries some great fabric that already has 5 inches of elastic sewn at the top. So to make a dress, you just have to measure, sew one straight line and then cut off the extra fabric! It’s so easy! Or, if you’d prefer, you could make a skirt instead of a dress.

 

My sister and I wanted to make dresses for our girls, so we took it a step further and made straps using the left over material.

               

Here is the dress we made for my 5 year-old niece.

 

So cute! My niece loves it too!

Then my sister made this dress for her 3 year-old daughter:

 

Take a closer look at the adorable straps my sister made out of the extra elastic:

 

Love it!

I made a Tinker Bell dress for my daughter, but she doesn’t want to wear it…. she prefers her cousin’s Little Mermaid dress! 🙂  As you can see, though, there are a lot of cute fabrics to choose from. For adults, they carry some solid colors, so I plan to make a summer skirt and swimsuit cover-up for myself.

So if you are looking for a quick and rewarding sewing project, I recommend you head to your local fabric store and pick up some of this material. Fun and easy… my kind of project!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

