Pleated Spiral Pillow

I finally finished my pleated spiral pillow and I really like it! I can’t wait to make another one!

I learned how to make it from Cluck Cluck Sew. A few weeks ago my Mom and I picked up a Moda Jelly Roll from Jo-Ann’s. Jelly Rolls have strips from one line of fabric and they look like this:

The Jelly Roll I bought had 40 2-1/2″ x 44″ strips of fabric. I started by ironing each strip in half:

I’m sure experienced sewers can make the pleats as they sew, but I decided to iron the pleats ahead of time to make it a little easier. This was the most time consuming part, but it was worth it for me.

Here is the pile of fabric with all of the pleats pressed:

I traced the circle using a large bowl, pinned the first strip of fabric and then started to sew:

Overall, it probably took me about 3 hours to make the pillow, which includes all of the ironing of the pleats.

There are so many cute Jelly Rolls out there, I can’t wait to make some more of these pillows!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pleated Spiral Pillow

  1. Jen Novotony says:

    Jullia, this is a great blog!! You are so savvy!! I wish I could so as many “make-it-myself” projects as you and Matt! Kudos to you and love the blog! Keep posting links on facebook!

  2. Thanks Jen! It’s been so much fun! I needed some sort of creative outlet. I really enjoy your blog as well. One of these days we will have to get together for a play date/social media brainstorm session!

Leave a Reply

