Flowers in Bloom

I have a lot of projects in the works right now, but nothing is complete because I’ve been spending most of my free time outside. This is our first Spring in our new house so it’s been fun seeing what new flowers pop up daily.

Here are the poppies that just bloomed:

And some Phlox:

The peonies are going to bloom any day now and I can’t wait:

Some of the plants I can’t figure out if they are weeds or flowers. So with a spray paint can in hand, I made my sister go around the yard with me so I could “tag” what weeds need to be removed. Some were more obvious than others:

That is one monster pricker! It’s literally almost 3′ tall! I might have to use Matt’s chainsaw on that thing.

I haven’t bought many flowers yet because I kind of want to see what blooms, but I did buy these two moss hanging baskets from Black’s Nursery in Hartford:

I love them and I can’t wait for them to fill in some more.

Next up – the local farmer’s market this weekend for some flower and vegetable plants. Where do you all like to shop for plants? My sisters and I are always looking for new places to go.

This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

