Amy Butler Birdie Sling Purse

I made my first purse!!! I bought an Amy Butler Birdie Sling Purse pattern and Moda fabric for a great little quilting shop called Village Creek Quilts, in Lodi, WI. Here is how it turned out:

Since it was my first time making a purse, it was a slow and painful process. I learned so much, though, and I really got to test out my new sewing machine! I have a whole new appreciation for hand made purses, that’s for sure. I had no idea it would take so much time to cut everything out, press the fabric, attach the interfacing…. on and on.

My Mom and sister stopped at the same shop this past weekend, so they picked me up another purse pattern. So I already have the fabric cut and ready to sew for this Amy Butler Frenchy Handbag:

I’m also considering making one (or two) of these Honey Bun Poufs:

My husband is thrilled with my new sewing obsession, let me tell ya!  🙂 I know the obsession will fade, but right now I’m really enjoying it.

This entry was posted in DIY, Purse, Sewing Projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Amy Butler Birdie Sling Purse

  1. Amy S. says:

    It looks great!! The frenchy purse is MUCH easier than the Birdie Sling b/c you don’t use fusible interfacing, you use the kind you sew in. I have two AMy Butler sewing books that you can look through at my house if you make it to crafternoon. One is entirely bags!! She also has a bunch of free patterns on her website, FYI.

    In Stitches: http://www.amazon.com/Amy-Butlers-Stitches-Stylish-Projects/dp/0811851591/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1326982261&sr=1-3
    Bags: http://www.amazon.com/Amy-Butlers-Style-Stitches-Wonderful/dp/0811866696/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1326982279&sr=1-1

    • Amy – You are right, the frenchy purse was so much easier! I bought home decorating fabric for the next one, so we’ll see how that goes. 🙂 I have it all cut out and ready to go, I just need to find the time to sew it. I’m looking forward to the crafternoon!

  2. Melissa says:

    These turned out great! You are following in the footsteps of your mom!

  3. Pingback: Amy Butler Birdie Slings |

Leave a Reply

