Skirt Gathering Technique – Using Dental Floss

Here is the skirt I made for Vivian using the same Burda pattern as Nora’s.

Viv’s skirt isn’t as full because I was a little short on material (I wanted to use fabric I already had at home 🙂 ). Luckily it still worked out!

To gather the skirt, I used a quick and easy technique my Mom taught me using dental floss! Maybe it’s my lack of sewing experience, but any time I’ve tried to do gathering in the past, with thread, it was a pain…. literally! Pulling the thread is hard and it cuts into your skin. I was also lucky if the thread didn’t break or get stuck. So this way was a lot easier!

Skirt Gathering Using Dental Floss

First, I secured one end of the floss to the inside of the skirt, using my sewing machine:

I even tied a little knot to make sure the floss stayed fixed in place. Then, using a zig zag stitch, I sewed over the dental floss. I did this around the entire inside of the skirt. I was very careful to stitch over the floss, making sure not t0 catch it:

Once I got to the end, I was able to pull the floss, gathering the material of the skirt. Because the floss is smooth and wax coated, it slid through the zig zag stitch really easily:

From there, I continued with the instructions on the pattern. Thanks for the tip Mom!

This entry was posted in DIY, Sewing Projects, Skirt and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Skirt Gathering Technique – Using Dental Floss

  1. Amy S. says:

    that is an awesome trick! i’ll have to try it!

  2. Kathy says:

    Sandy P is amazing!

  3. Dana says:

    Reblogged this on The Cotton Gin and commented:
    I don’t sew often, but this is post has a great tip that those of us with less experience can really appreciate!

Leave a Reply

