St. Patrick’s Day Skirt

I was in denial for a while, but about a month ago I unfortunately realized how much money I’ve been spending at Jo-Ann’s and Michael’s. Those darn coupons! Every time I get one I feel like I have to go buy something! Then, just like at Target, I end up buying way more than what I originally went to the store for. I’m sure a lot of you can relate! So I’ve been trying to scale back my spending a little, which has been a challenge. I came up with a penny pinching solution, though, which is to go “shopping” at my Mom’s house! She has a great sewing room and an incredible collection of fabrics. Here’s a glimpse at just some of her fabrics:

She’s probably going to hate me for posting that! 🙂 She is so generous too – she lets me just go through and pick whatever fabrics, batting and thread I want. I’m so spoiled!

When I was there a few weeks ago, she hadn’t brought out her St. Patrick’s Day fabrics yet from the basement (yes, she also has several bins of fabric in the basement 🙂 ). I was impatient and wanted to get started on a skirt for Nora right away, so I picked out some different green patterns she had that weren’t necessarily shamrocks or St. Paddy’s Day themed. I made the exact same skirt as last time, but for some reason this one turned out way too poofy. Maybe it was because the polka dot fabric was kind of stiff? Or maybe it was because I didn’t pre-wash the fabric? Yes, I admit it, sometimes I’m lazy and I don’t pre-wash.  Either way, I’ve had the poofy skirt done for a few weeks now, knowing I needed to fix it, but there is sat on my sewing table. Then last night, I realized Nora had her St. Patrick’s Day party at school today so I finally bit the bullet and quickly took in the sides a little bit a lot. Nothing like waiting until the last minute! It turned out pretty good all things considered:

I love the combination of clothes she puts together. Green matches green…. it doesn’t matter the shade! She’s also obsessed with her cowboy boots right now, so cute! Luckily her skirt held up through the day and didn’t unravel at the seams. We’ll see how, and if, it holds up with washing now.

My Mom actually made both girls St. Patrick’s Day skirts too, but from shamrock material. She was making skirts for all of her other granddaughters, so what’s two more right?! 🙂 She is giving them to the girls on Saturday when we are at their house for corned beef and cabbage and the local St. Patrick’s Day parade. I’ll post pics. Happy St. Patrick’s Day everyone!

This entry was posted in DIY, Sewing Projects, Skirt and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

