The Very Hungry Caterpillar Long Pillow or Draft Stopper

Now that Christmas is over I can start to post pictures of some projects I’ve been working on, without ruining any surprises! I made a lot of our gifts this year and my favorite was probably this long pillow of The Very Hungry Caterpillar:

VeryHungryCaterpillar_Pillow_1

VeryHungryCaterpillar_Pillow_2 VeryHungryCaterpillar_Pillow_3

I gave one to my 4 year-old daughter and the other to my 2 year-old niece, along with The Very Hungry Caterpillar book by Eric Carle. I bought the fabric panels (by Andover Fabrics) for around $7 each at The Quilted Basket. The pillow is two sided, so the fabric panel looks like this:

VeryHungryCaterpillar_Pillow_Panel

The finished size is about 41″x 11″ and the complete directions can be found here. The directions also include how to make a draft stopper, but I just went with the pillow. It didn’t take me more than 20 minutes to sew, trim, turn and stuff the pillow – so it’s a quick and easy project. The gift was a big hit with the kiddos, too. So much so, that I asked my Mom to pick up four more fabric panels for me when she was at The Quilted Basket yesterday! If you are interested in making this pillow/draft stopper as a gift for someone, you can also purchase the fabric panels online at several different websites (search for “the very hungry caterpillar draft stopper panel). Enjoy!

This entry was posted in DIY, Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

