Apron Knot Dress

Wow, I haven’t blogged in far too long! That’s what three young kids will do to you I guess! I wrote this post back in January, just never published it…. I’m not too proud of that!! 🙂 Better late than never, I guess! Here goes….

When we found out I was pregnant with baby number three, I knew right away I wanted to schedule a newborn photo shoot with Amy from McManigal Photography. I’ve known Amy since high school and she is one of those photographers who has that “it” factor. She is really creative and definitely has a gift, so the whole thing was very exciting. After I got the photo shoot scheduled, I started to look around for outfits for our two girls and the baby (gender unknown at the time). I didn’t have much luck, though, because I had something very specific in mind. So I decided to make dresses for the girls instead! Then I dyed a onesie for the baby, to match the dresses.

The first dress I made was an Apron Knot Dress. I bought the pattern from Pitter Patterns on Etsy – actually I bought a set of three patterns for $15. The patterns were e-mailed as PDFs to download and print, which was so convenient and easy. I tweaked the design a little bit to so that the apron was separate from the dress, but other than that I followed the pattern exactly. Here is a picture from the photo shoot:

_MG_8715e

Love it! Hard to believe it was an extremely hot and humid July day! Here is another, very non-professional, picture of just the dress (the dress is backwards on the hanger… oops! But you get the idea!):

Nora_KnotDressWithApron_1

And here is another picture of the dress without the apron:

Nora_KnotDress_1

I’ll post pictures of the other dress, and more pictures from the photo shoot, in my next blog post….

This entry was posted in DIY, Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment